View of Lake Cootharaba from the foreshore

About the area


Boreen Point village is located at the northern end of the Sunshine Coast. It is the only residential enclave on the shores of Lake Cootharaba. It is situated in the Noosa Regional Council area.

Lake Cootharaba is a large saltwater inland lake that forms part of the Noosa River Catchment. In times of heavy rain, the lake is a mixture of both salt and fresh water. The lake is home to a variety of water sports including:

  • sailing

  • wind surfing

  • kite surfing

  • boating

  • fishing

  • swimming.

You can access the ocean by boating down the Noose River or travelling across the lake to Teewah Landing and walking to the surf.

Noosa Biosphere Reserve

Boreen Point is surrounded by the Great Sandy National Park – Cooloola Section and Rural Preservation Zone. The village of Boreen Point sits on a small peninsula. It is surrounded on three sides by Lake Cootharaba and bordered by the rural hinterland areas. As you exit the village you enter the beautiful rural hinterland area of Cootharaba, which leads northwest to Wahpunga and the village of Kin Kin.

As part of Noosa Council’s bid to win world environmental recognition in the UNESCO Man and Biosphere Program, an independent biodiversity study in 2005 found that the Noosa Shire had more plant and bird species than the Yosemite National Park World Heritage Area in the USA, and the Kakadu National Park in northern Australia.


“In brief, the report showed that Noosa has one of the most amazing environments in which to live on the whole planet.”


On 20 September 2007, UNESCO established the Noosa Biosphere Reserve - an area comprising our terrestrial and coastal/marine ecosystems. The Biosphere recognises and promotes the balanced relationship that exists between the local community and the environment.

There is a strong and genuine sense of respect and pride held by the local community for the pristine environment we are blessed with.

More information


For more information on the Biosphere Reserve, refer to the following websites: